This site is powered and sponsored by where groups can collaborate easily using email.


All New Zealand local government organisations have some obligation relating to biodiversity in their region or territory. Crown Research Institutes, government departments and ministries, museums, universities, private sector organisations, associations and other non-government organisations are also involved in biodiversity data management.

Organisations involved in local government biodata management are listed below with a link to their external website, as well as links to information held on Dataversity about their practices, systems and any people who are members of Dataversity.

Local Government

Regional Councils

Auckland Council
Members: Karen DenyerMike McMurtry,  Sam Hill, Shona MyersMatt Baber. Systems: EcoBase.
Environment Bay of Plenty
Members: Heather MacKenzieJim Fretwell, Nancy Willems. Practices:Data Quality Management. Systems: Biodiversity Ecologies Application.
Environment Canterbury
Members: Adrian Meredith,  Frances Schmechel, Philip Grove. Systems: FORMAK.
Environment Southland
Members: Bonnie Rowell, Kirsten MeijerRichard BowmanTim Riding.
Environment Waikato
Members: Alan Berry-CopeCatherine BeardDerek PhynRyan ClarkYanbin Deng.
Greater Wellington Regional Council
Members: Bruce BrewerKim BroadNikki McArthur, Owen SpearpointPedro JensenPhilippa CrispSara MoylanSummer WarrTim Park, Tim Porteous.
Hawke's Bay Regional Council
Members: Rod Dickson. Systems: NZFFD.
Horizons Regional Council
Members: Bill Martyn, Fleur MaseykJames Lambie. Systems: CADDIS-Fly, NZFFDB
Northland Regional Council
Members: Kathy MortimerLisa ForesterWayne Teal.
Otago Regional Council
Members: Matt Dale, Susie McKeague.
Taranaki Regional Council
Members: Rosemary Miller, Shay Dean.
West Coast Regional Council
Members: Jonny Horrox.

Unitary Councils

Chatham Islands Council
Gisborne District Council
Marlborough District Council
Members: Peter Hamill. Systems: FBIS.
Nelson City Council
Members: Paul FisherPaul SheldonLynne HallChris Ward.
Tasman District Council
Members: Kay AndersonLeif PigottLindsay VaughanRob SmithSteve Markham.

City Councils

Auckland City Council
Members: Craig Bishop and Emily Roper.
Christchurch City Council
Members: Di CarterGary Tibble, Graeme Thompson, Liz Garson, Oliver Mould, Peter Woodrow.
Dunedin City Council
Members: Debbie Hogan.
Hamilton City Council
Hutt City Council
Members: Craig Cottrill.
Invercargill City Council
Manukau City Council
Napier City Council
North Shore City Council
Palmerston North City Council
Porirua City Council
Tauranga City Council
Members: Dianne Paton.
Upper Hutt City Council
Waitakere City Council
Wellington City Council
Members: Amber Bill, Myfanwy Emeny, Naomi Witham.

District Councils

Ashburton District Council
Buller District Council
Carterton District Council
Members: Lucy Brophy.
Central Hawke's Bay District Council
Central Otago District Council
Members: Louise van der Voort.
Clutha District Council
Members: Murray Brass.
Far North District Council
Members: Harirewa Watene.
Franklin District Council
Members: Andrew MoorKelly Nash.
Gore District Council
Grey District Council
Hastings District Council
Hauraki District Council
Horowhenua District Council
Hurunui District Council
Members: Dale McEntee, Jan Weaver.
Kaikoura District Council
Members: Jodie Denton.
Kaipara District Council
Members: Stephen Soole.
Kapiti Coast District Council
Members: Rob Cross.
Kawerau District Council
Mackenzie District Council
Manawatu District Council
Masterton District Council
Members: Lucy Brophy.
Matamata-Piako District Council
New Plymouth District Council
Members: Quin Amoore, Tina Christmas.
Opotiki District Council
Members: Mike Houghton.
Otorohanga District Council
Papakura District Council
Queenstown Lakes District Council
Members: Sue Mavor.
Rangitikei District Council
Rodney District Council
Members: Craig Pratt.
Rotorua District Council
Ruapehu District Council
Selwyn District Council
Members: Andrew Mactier.
Southland District Council
South Taranaki District Council
South Waikato District Council
Members: James Piddock.
South Wairarapa District Council
Members: Lucy Brophy.
Stratford District Council
Tararua District Council
Taupo District Council
Thames-Coromandel District Council
Timaru District Council
Members: Peter Kloosterman
Waikato District Council
Waimakariri District Council
Members: Janet Fraser.
Waimate District Council
Waipa District Council
Members: Tony Roxburgh.
Wairoa District Council
Waitaki District Council
Waitomo District Council
Wanganui District Council
Western Bay of Plenty District Council
Westland District Council
Whakatane District Council
Members: Penny Doorman
Whangarei District Council
Members: Leigh Honnor.


Boffa Miskell
Members: Simon Chapman.
Cawthron Institute
Members: Paul Barter.
envISion Environmental Information Services and Training Ltd.
Members: Elise Smith.
Focus Resource Management Group
Members: Hamish Kendal
ICS Multimedia
Members: David Ovington.
Members: Julian Carver.
Wildlands Consultants Ltd

Crown Research Institutes

Crop and Food Research
Members: Nicholas Martin.
Landcare Research
Members: Aaron Wilton, Hazel Broadbent, Jerry Cooper, Mark Fuglestad, Nick Spencer, Kevin Richards, Susan Wiser. Systems: Animal Distribution Maps, Animal Survey Reports, Ant Distribution Data, Land Environments of New Zealand (LENZ), Land Resource Information System, New Zealand Arthropod Collection and Specimen and Information Database, New Zealand Fungal Herbarium (PDD) and Associated Database, New Zealand Organisms Register (NZOR), Nga Tipu Whakaoranga-Ethnobotany Database, NVS, Research Herbarium for Plant Biosystematics, Virtual Herbarium.
National Institute for Water and Atmospheric Research (NIWA)
Members: Andrew Watkins, Alastair Suren, Brent Wood Don Robertson, Jane Robbins. Systems: FBIS, NZFFD, Bathing Water Quality Systems.

Funding Schemes

Members: Alan White.

Government Departments and Ministries

Animal Health Board
Biosecurity New Zealand
Department of Conservation
Members: Ana Cotter, Benno Kappers, James Griffiths, John Sawyer, Lynette Hartley, Madan Gautam, Shirley Vollweiler, S H Moore, Susie James. Systems: Bioweb Bird Banding, Bioweb Herpetofauna, Five Minute Bird Count Database, National Biodiversity Metadata Database.
Ministry for the Environment
Members: Tanya Gray, Karl Majorhazi. Systems: LUCAS, NZ Land Cover Database
Ministry of Research, Science and Technology
Members: Isabella Cawthorn.

Biodiversity Data Projects

Global Biodiversity Information Facility 
New Zealand Organisms Register (NZOR)
Members: Don Robertson, Isabella.Cawthorn, Jerry Cooper, Julian Carver.

Networks, Associations and Societies

Action Bio-Community
Biodiversity Forum
Members: Lindsay Vaughan. Media: 2010 National Workshop.
Biosecurity Institute
Members: Pedro Jensen. Media: 2010 National Workshop.
Biosecurity Managers Group
Local Government Ecologists Network (LGEN)
Members: James Lambie. Media: 2010 National Workshop.
New Zealand Ecological Society
Members: Shona Myers, Karen Denyer.
New Zealand Ecological Restoration Network (NZERN)
New Zealand Entomological Society
New Zealand Freshwater Sciences Society
New Zealand National Herbarium Network (NZNHN)
New Zealand Plant Conservation Network
Members: John Sawyer.
The Ornithological Society of New Zealand
Resource Managers Group (RMG)
Society for Research on Amphibians and Reptiles in New Zealand (SRARNZ)
Surface Water Information Management (SWIM)
Members: Chris Arbuckle.

Statutory Organisations

QEII National Trust